Angga and His Camera : SEMERU MOUNTAIN

On 5th October 2012, I went to Semeru Mountain. Semeru, or Mount Semeru (Indonesian: Gunung Semeru), is a volcano located in East Java, Indonesia. It is the highest mountain on the island of Java. The stratovolcano is also known as Mahameru, meaning ‘The Great Mountain.[1] The name derived from Hindu-Buddhist mythical mountain of Meru or Sumeru, the abode of gods.(Wikipedia)

I went from Bandung to Malang, approximately 14 hours by train. It was such a long trip. I departed at 15:30 PM and arrived at 07:05 AM. Malang is good city, the atmosphere similar with Bandung, however, Bandung still better than Malang.

I started climbed the mountain at 13:00, it started from Ranu Pane and went to the Ranu Kumbolo first, it was about 6 hours from Ranu Pane to Ranu Kumbolo. at Ranu Kumbolo we made a camp for took a rest for a while. we arrived at Ranu Kumbolo at 19:00. the track was nice but the way near Ranu Kumbolo there were a lot of sands. it made me difficult find a way. but the beautiful Ranu Kumbolo could paid my struggle to get there.

Ranu Kumbolo

I slept in Ranu Kumbolo for one night, tomorrow I went to Kalimati, in Kalimati I took a rest before Summit Attack. Ya, I started to Climbed Summit of Semeru from Kalimati.

We took a rest at Kalimati

at Kalimati, there were so many edelweiss flowers,

On the night, at 00:00, we prepared for went to Summit of Semeru, We called the Summit by Mahameru.

the track to the summit was really crazy, there were a lot of sands, very steep and cooold, I remembered when I was in Ukraine in the winter. I was feeling the same. I didn’t know, or maybe my jacket was too thin. but I am sure it was really cold.

Finally, on 08:00 morning, I successed to reached the summit of Semeru, I successed reach MAHAMERU, yeaah! with struggle, confidence, and never give up I tried so hard to climbed the mountain. All of us were 15 people who climbed the summit, but only 5 people that successed to reached the summit. include me!

on the way to the summit. Am I looking tired? hehe

aaarhh, enjoy for a while. hehe

the lanscapes with my slippers

on the summit!!

ok, I am gonna give you some tips if you want to climb Semeru:

1. Take your heavy jacket, because there is really cold

2. Use boots, do not use slippers (like me) haha, it would make you hard to step.

3. make sure that your body healthy and strong to climb, if you feel you are sick and weak, I think you just stay in Ranu Kumbolo. hehe

well, thank you for reading my post.

2 thoughts on “Angga and His Camera : SEMERU MOUNTAIN

Leave a Reply

